Menu

Catégorie de la page

Digital data, services and infrastructure

3 questions to...

Christophe Castaing Director of the Digital Engineering Programme, EGIS Associate Director of the MINnD National Project

Portrait et citation
Christophe Castaing — Directeur du programme Ingénierie Numérique, EGIS.  Co-directeur du Projet National MINND
Citation
We draw on BRGM's capabilities in data management and numerical simulation tools.
Introduction d'entête
While EGIS and BRGM have been collaborating on many projects for decades, our recent work on digital twins for infrastructure has opened up new perspectives for providing joint strategic services to regional and local decision makers across France.
Body

What do an engineering company and a research organisation collaborate on?

C. C. — Our collaboration is natural and long-standing. EGIS is a French engineering company with a global outlook. It employs 14,000 staff and is active in a wide range of sectors: planning and development, transport and water infrastructure, environment, construction, and mobility services. We offer global services combining consultancy, engineering and infrastructure operation.
Across all our activities, we seek to address critical challenges of today, including the climate crisis, by harnessing the innovative potential of the digital transformation. Since the company was formed in 1973, we have collaborated with BRGM on geotechnical issues and underground infrastructure. In terms of subsurface knowledge and research, and infrastructure digital representation and modelling, we draw on BRGM's capabilities in data management and the implementation of numerica simulation tools.

Can you provide specific project examples?

C. C. — We have already worked on many projects together. For example, we characterised and modelled the underground water compartment and created a hydrodynamic aquifer system model for water table levels. We also collaborated on industrial platforms for the 3D modelling of linear infrastructure, and on natural hazard prevention.
As part of the MINnD National Project for modelling interoperable information for sustainable infrastructure, EGIS and BRGM are working together on "super Building Information Modelling (BIM)". The aim is to develop digital twins of infrastructure in the built environment at the local and regional level (see Digital twins of infrastructure and its surroundings). A synergy was created, enabling the strategic open BIM and open GIS projects to become a reality in our subsurface work, from tunnel modelling and geotechnics (through promoting greater consistency in approaches through BuildingSMART International and the OGC), to specifying the collaborative platforms of the future.

Will you continue to collaborate in the future?

C. C. — Our collaboration remains essential to tackle the future challenges of French regions, which will need to evolve to satisfy the requirements of a low-carbon economy. I expect our collaboration to take on a new dimension. We plan to offer new services for regional and local government for the management of infrastructure and subsurface issues. This will cover the modelling of structures and natural stresses. We also intend to form EGIS/BRGM partnerships for the development of modelling systems to be integrated in collaborative regional and local government platforms as part of regional and local digital twins.

Menu

Catégorie de la page

Données, services et infrastructures numériques

3 questions à...

Christophe Castaing Directeur du programme Ingénierie Numérique, EGIS. Co-directeur du Projet National MINnD

Portrait et citation
Christophe Castaing — Directeur du programme Ingénierie Numérique, EGIS.  Co-directeur du Projet National MINND
Citation
Nous nous appuyons sur les capacités du BRGM dans la gestion de données et les outils de simulation numérique.
Introduction d'entête
Si de nombreux projets ont émaillé la collaboration entre EGIS et le BRGM depuis des décennies, les travaux récents sur les jumeaux numériques pour les infrastructures, ouvrent la voie à des offres stratégiques communes au service des gestionnaires de territoires.
Body

Quelle coopération entre une société d’ingénierie et un organisme de recherche ?

C. C. — Elle est naturelle, et historique. EGIS est une entreprise française d’ingénierie à vocation internationale de 14 000 collaborateurs, présente dans de nombreux secteurs : aménagement, infrastructures de transport et de l’eau, environnement, construction et services à la mobilité. Nous proposons une offre globale alliant conseil, ingénierie et exploitation d’infrastructures.
Dans tous ces domaines, nous cherchons à répondre aux grands défis du moment, et en particulier l’urgence climatique, par l’innovation autour de la transformation numérique. Sur les problématiques géotechniques et les infrastructures qui sont liées au sous-sol, nous avons toujours collaboré avec le BRGM depuis notre création en 1973. Sur les connaissances et les études du sous-sol ainsi que sur la représentation numérique et la modélisation des infrastructures, nous nous appuyons sur les capacités du BRGM en gestion de données et dans la mise en œuvre d’outils de simulation numérique.

Quelques exemples de projets ?

C. C. — De nombreux projets ont déjà été traités en commun. Sur l’eau, par exemple, avec la caractérisation et la modélisation de la composante eaux souterraines, ou la création de modèle hydrodynamique d’un système aquifère pour la modélisation des nappes... Pour les plateformes industrielles, avec la modélisation 3D d’infrastructures linéaires, ou enfin dans la prévention de risques naturels.
Dans le cadre du Projet National MINnD (Modélisation des informations interopérables pour les infrastructures durables), Egis et le BRGM œuvrent ensemble sur la perspective du « super BIM » (Building Information Modeling), un jumeau numérique des infrastructures non seulement locales (lire Des jumeaux numériques pour les infrastructures et leur environnement) mais aussi à l’échelle d’un territoire. Une véritable synergie s’est mise en place pour que le projet stratégique de l’open BIM et de l’Open SIG se concrétise dans les travaux liés au sous-sol, tant sur les aspects de modélisation des tunnels et de la géotechnique, en homogénéisant les approches dans Buildingsmart international et dans l’OGC, que sur la spécification des plateformes collaboratives du futur.

Et dans le futur, quelle implémentation ?

C. C. — Notre collaboration reste indispensable pour servir les enjeux des territoires du futur qui devront répondre aux exigences d’un bilan bas carbone. Cette collaboration devrait prendre des contours nouveaux : d’une part en proposant une offre nouvelle de services en direction des collectivités pour la gestion des infrastructures et leurs problématiques souterraines aussi bien sur la modélisation des contraintes naturelles que des ouvrages ; et d’autre part autour de partenariats EGIS/BRGM pour le développement d’outils de modélisation permettant de venir s’inscrire dans les plateformes collaboratives des collectivités comme partie prenante des jumeaux numériques du territoire.