Menu

Catégorie de la page

Subsurface potential for the energy transition

3 questions to...

Christophe Renier Chief Technical Officer for Energy Solutions and Industrial Expertise at Storengy

Portrait et citation
Christophe Renier — CTO Energy Solution and Industrial Expertise chez Storengy
Citation
We are working together on broader, strategically-structured issues in order to define new decentralised and local carbon-free business models.
Introduction d'entête
The subsurface is a key supporting element for the energy transition. Storengy and BRGM are working together to reduce the inherent uncertainties in exploiting subsurface energy resources, and to determine their economic potential in order to position them in relation to other renewable energies.
Body

What is the basis of Storengy’s relationship with BRGM?

C. R. — Storengy, a subsidiary of Engie, the world leader in underground storage of natural gas, considers that underground storage is a vital supporting element for the energy transition. Ties have been forged over the years with BRGM, a key player the field, and it obviously makes sense to work together. We have carried out many projects thanks to our complementary competences, with the BRGM laboratory undertaking the applied research and Storengy as an industrialist.
Building on these long-standing ties, we are further streng­thening our cooperation: in addition to the subjects on which we already work together, we are now discussing broader, strategically-structured issues.

How do you work together in practice?

C. R. — First of all, we collaborate on specific projects. One example is the drilling project for a geothermal doublet to supply the heating network in Bordeaux, which began in 2019. The geothermal reservoir has very specific characteristics and this is an example where research is combined with operational work, with the BRGM recommending operating rules and Storengy applying them to its own operations. Other examples are CHARMS for high temperature geothermal modelling, or STOPIL H2, a pilot project for hydrogen storage in saline cavities at our Etrez storage site: this is a little-studied and fairly innovative topic, since we are addressing the development of green hydrogen and its storage. Finally, with the large-scale European HeatStore project, Storengy and BRGM are helping to speed up applied research on underground heat storage and technology transfers to industry.
Beyond these projects, we are looking ahead to further intensify and structure our collaboration, through discussions at biannual ”management meetings“ that aim to strengthen and accelerate our joint undertakings.

And what are the prospects?

C. R. — Our goal is to define new carbon-free, decentralised and local business models. To do so, we are looking into all forms of geothermal engineering, whether for energy resources or to store heat, cold, CO2, hydrogen, etc. Our partnership with BRGM is essential, certainly in France, and potentially of key importance in the future to reduce the uncertainties inherent in subsurface operations and to determine relevant ways of positioning them in competition with other renewable energies.

Menu

Catégorie de la page

Transition énergétique et espace souterrain

3 questions à...

Christophe Renier CTO Energy Solution and Industrial Expertise chez Storengy

Portrait et citation
Christophe Renier — CTO Energy Solution and Industrial Expertise chez Storengy
Citation
Nous travaillons ensemble sur des enjeux élargis, stratégiques et structurants dans le but de définir de nouveaux business modèles décarbonés, décentralisés et locaux.
Introduction d'entête
Le sous-sol est un élément clé pour accompagner la transition énergétique. Storengy et le BRGM œuvrent en commun à diminuer l’incertitude inhérente à son exploitation, et à lui trouver un sens économique pour le positionner en compétition avec les autres énergies renouvelables.
Body

Quelle est la nature des liens avec le BRGM ?

C. R. — Filiale d’Engie, leader mondial du stockage souterrain de gaz naturel, Storengy considère le sous-sol comme un élément clé pour accompagner la transition énergétique. Le BRGM étant un acteur incontournable du domaine, des liens se sont tissés au fil du temps et la collaboration tombe sous le sens. Notre complémentarité a permis de mener à bien de nombreux projets : le laboratoire en tant qu’acteur de la recherche appliquée et nous en tant qu’industriel.
Au-delà de ces liens anciens, nous renforçons encore notre coopération : en plus des sujets sur lesquels nous collaborons déjà, nous échangeons désormais ensemble sur des enjeux plus larges, stratégiques et structurants.

Précisément, comment travaillez-vous ensemble ?

C. R. — Il y a d’abord une collaboration par projets. Je citerais les forages du doublet géothermique pour le réseau de chaleur de Bordeaux, débutés en 2019. Le réservoir y est très particulier et nous avons là un exemple à la fois de sujet d’exploitation et de recherche, où le BRGM préconise des règles d’exploitation et Storengy les exploite. Citons aussi CHARMS, modélisation de géothermie à haute température, ou STOPIL H2, projet pilote de stockage d’hydrogène en cavité saline sur notre site de stockage Etrez – un sujet peu étudié et assez novateur, puisque nous y abordons le développement de l’hydrogène vert et son stockage.Je finirai par le projet européen de grande ampleur Heat Store où, avec le BRGM, nous contribuons à accélérer le transfert vers l’industrie des technologies et de la recherche appliquée sur le stockage souterrain de chaleur.
Au-delà de ces projets, nous avons décidé d’aller plus loin, d’intensifier et de structurer plus fortement notre collaboration. Une évolution initiée par des échanges biannuels sous forme de « réunions de management » destinés à renforcer et à accélérer nos actions communes.

Et donc, quelles perspectives ?

C. R. — Notre objectif : définir de nouveaux business modèles décarbonés, décentralisés et locaux. Nous nous intéressons pour cela à toutes les formes de géothermie, sur le plan des ressources ou comme vecteur de stockage de chaleur, de froid, de CO2, d’hydrogène, etc. Le BRGM est un partenaire incontournable du moins en France, potentiellement clé dans le futur pour diminuer l’incertitude inhérente à l’exploitation du sous-sol, lui trouver un sens économique et le positionner en compétition avec les autres énergies renouvelables.