Menu

Catégorie de la page

Geology and knowledge of the subsurface

3 questions to...

Laurent JolivetSorbonne University Professor
and Chair of the Scientific Committee for the French Geological Reference Platform

Portrait et citation
Laurent Jolivet
Citation
The RGF is an ambitious and enduring collaborative research programme between the University and BRGM that federates the entire geosciences community.
Introduction d'entête
The Geological Reference Platform is the first digital geological map in 3D covering the whole of France. A multi-decade programme conducted with the assistance of researchers and teacher-researchers from the academic community.
Body

In a few words, how would you describe the RGF?

L. J. — The RGF, or French Geological Reference Platform, is the database that will ultimately contain all geological data on the surface and subsurface in France. The information is digital, in 3D, updated over time, homogeneous and consistent across all areas of mainland and overseas France. This reference platform is the successor to the programme for the 1:50,000 geological map of France, led by the BRGM in collaboration with the academic community and itself building on earlier mapping work dating back 80 years.
The RGF is a federating programme for the geoscience community that responds not only to increasing demand for scientific knowledge but also to pressing strategic needs. Economic development relies to a significant extent on the subsurface and its resources (minerals, groundwater), which are also involved in key issues for society such as spatial planning, energy prospecting and storage, waste storage, risk prevention and protection of populations and the environment.

How is work on the RGF conducted in practice?

L. J. — The RGF is designed to meet these challenges by moving from 2-dimensional information to a multi-scale geological representation in 3D, and even in 4D since time is a fundamental dimension in the Earth Sciences. The data will be incorporated into a collaborative information system (IS) for exchanging, distributing and accessing geoscientific knowledge. The RGF is a collaborative effort ranging across multiple themes, because it is above all an ambitious and enduring joint programme between the Universities, the CNRS and BRGM that began with the first geological map of France. It is funded by BRGM, with jointly conducted studies encompassing numerous PhD theses.
After the first "work package" launched five years ago on the Pyrenees , two new projects began in 2019 on 3D mapping of the Alps and the Paris Basin, with the start of work on 13 new theses.

How would you assess the programme so far?

L. J. — The RGF programme is a good reflection of BRGM’s contribution to geological knowledge. The joint studies have proved their value in applying this knowledge to different uses and for the benefit of society as a whole. The programme involves both university academics and researchers in applied fields, two families that know each other well as we were already working together more informally on the previous mapping programme. We are now working in a more structured and focused way on the different RGF projects, with BRGM contributing not only its knowledge of the terrain in France but also its expertise in georeferencing and map harmonisation. Our next projects will cover the Massif Central, the French Caribbean and, over the next couple of decades, the whole of France.

Menu

Catégorie de la page

Géologie et connaissance du sous-sol

3 questions à...

Laurent Jolivet professeur à Sorbonne Université,
Président du conseil scientifique du Référentiel géologique de la France

Portrait et citation
Laurent Jolivet
Citation
Collaboration ambitieuse et de longue date entre l’université et le BRGM, le RGF est un programme de recherche fédérateur pour la communauté des géosciences.
Introduction d'entête
Le Référentiel géologique de la France est la première cartographie géologique numérique en 3D du territoire. Un programme pluridécennal mené avec l’aide des chercheurs et enseignants-chercheurs de la communauté académique.
Body

En quelques mots, qu’est-ce que le RGF ?

L. J. — Le Référentiel géologique de la France, c’est la future base de données géologique du sol et du sous-sol français. L’information y sera numérique, 3D et suivie dans le temps, homogène et cohérente sur l’ensemble du territoire, en métropole et dans les outremers. Ce référentiel prend le relais d’un programme de cartographie du territoire au 1/50 000 mené par le BRGM en collaboration avec le monde académique, lui-même issu de premiers travaux sur le sujet remontant à 80 ans !
C’est un programme fédérateur pour la communauté des géosciences qui traduit un besoin accru de connaissances scientifiques mais aussi une nécessité stratégique forte. Le développement économique dépend en effet en partie du sous-sol et de ses ressources (minerais, eaux souterraines), et de grands enjeux de société concernent aussi le sol et le sous-sol : aménagement du territoire, recherche et stockage de ressources énergétiques, stockage de déchets, prévention des risques et protection des populations et de l’environnement, etc.

Concrètement, comment se passe le travail ?

L. J. — Le Référentiel doit permettre de répondre à ces enjeux en passant d’une information en deux dimensions à une représentation géologique multi-échelle en 3D, et même 4D puisque le temps est une donnée fondamentale en sciences de la Terre. Les données seront intégrées dans un SI collaboratif pour l’échange, la diffusion et l’accès à la connaissance géo­scientifique. Autant de thèmes pour notre collaboration... Car le RGF est avant tout une coopération ambitieuse et de longue date entre l’université, le CNRS et le BRGM inaugurée lors de la première cartographie du territoire. Elle est financée par le BRGM, et le travail commun se décline concrètement en de nombreuses thèses de recherche.
Après un premier « chantier » lancé il y a cinq ans sur le massif des Pyrénées, deux nouveaux chantiers ont été initiés en 2019 sur la cartographie 3D des Alpes et du Bassin parisien avec le démarrage de 13 thèses.

Quel bilan peut-on en tirer ?

L. J. — Ce programme traduit bien la contribution du BRGM à la connaissance géologique. Notre travail commun montre son utilité pour la mettre au service de différents utilisateurs et de la société en général. Le programme rassemble communauté académique universitaire et chercheurs à vocation appliquée. Deux familles qui se connaissent bien, car nous avons déjà travaillé ensemble de façon un peu informelle pour l’ancienne cartographie. Nous sommes désormais plus structurés et focalisés sur des chantiers, le BRGM apportant, outre sa connaissance du territoire national, son expertise en géoréférencement et dans l’harmonisation des cartes. Dans nos projets à venir : le Massif central, les Antilles, et l’ensemble du territoire à l’horizon de quelques décennies...