Menu

Catégorie de la page

Ressources eau souterraines

Groundwater management

3 questions to...

Martin Gutton Director General of the Loire-Brittany Water Agency

Portrait et citation
Martin Gutton
Citation
A collaboration undertaken some 50 years ago on the subject of groundwater, and which is becoming increasingly important with climate change.
Introduction d'entête
Just like the other five agencies responsible for the French hydrographic basins, the Loire-Brittany Water Agency relies on BRGM’s scientific and technological expertise in groundwater. A review of exemplary historical cooperation.
Body

Why do you refer to your collaboration with BRGM as historical?

M. G. — Because to a certain extent we have grown up together... The Loire-Brittany Water Agency is one of six agencies across the country whose purpose, since they were set up some fifty years ago, is to monitor water quality in river basins. They are administrative establishments set up by the 1964 Water Act to support communities, industries and farms in managing their drinking water and sanitation investments.
Our activities focus on monitoring and restoring quality through the national water policy, with an annual budget of 2.1 billion euros. Since BRGM was set up in Orléans-La Source in 1965, our cooperation has never ceased: all the agencies work with it and its regional network.

What kinds of projects do you carry out together?

M. G. — For the entire country, I could mention projects such as the information system for groundwater management (SIGES), or the regional thematic portals accessible to experts, schools and the general public alike, where just a few clicks take you to updated local and national hydrogeological data. Another example is the national network of piezometers, which provides data on the quantitative status of water tables, under authority delegated to BRGM by the Ministry of Ecology.
As for the Loire-Brittany region, the POLDIF project is working on management tools for improving the quality of groundwater affected by pollutants such as nitrates or plant protection products (see p. 20). There is also the ICARE project, which is helping improve our understanding of aquifers by studying the water found in ancient massifs, in this case the Armorican Massif. The aim is to identify the main unexploited Tertiary basins in order to quantify their aquifer potential. This is a typical example of cooperation between a water agency and a scientific organisation such as BRGM.

To sum up...

M. G. — I think it’s fair to say that we can’t do without BRGM... This collaboration is becoming increasingly important with the acceleration of climate change and the disruption it brings. A new type of partnership is being set up through a renewed public-public cooperation framework, for the many projects already planned.

Menu

Catégorie de la page

Gestion des eaux souterraines

3 questions à...

Martin Gutton Directeur général de l’agence de l’eau Loire-Bretagne

Portrait et citation
Martin Gutton
Citation
Une collaboration initiée il y a une cinquantaine d’années dans le domaine des eaux souterraines, et qui devient de plus en plus nécessaire avec le changement climatique
Introduction d'entête
L’agence de l’eau Loire-Bretagne, comme les cinq autres agences réparties sur les bassins hydrographiques français, s’appuie sur l’expertise scientifique et technologique du BRGM dans la connaissance des eaux souterraines. Retour sur une coopération historique exemplaire.
Body

Pourquoi peut-on parler de collaboration historique avec le BRGM ?

M. G. — D’une certaine façon nous avons grandi ensemble... L’Agence de l’eau Loire-Bretagne est l’une des six agences réparties sur le territoire national dont la vocation, depuis leur création il y a une cinquantaine d’années, est de suivre la qualité des eaux dans les bassins hydrographiques. Ce sont des établissements administratifs instaurés par la Loi sur l’eau de 1964 pour accompagner collectivités, industries et exploitations agricoles dans leurs investissements en eau potable et en assainissement.
Nos métiers se focalisent sur la surveillance de la qualité et sa reconquête à travers la politique nationale de l’eau, avec un budget de 2,1 milliards d’euros par an. Et depuis l’installation du BRGM à Orléans-La Source en 1965, nous n’avons cessé de travailler ensemble : toutes les agences coopèrent avec l’Établissement et son réseau dans les territoires. 

Quels types de projets menez-vous ensemble ?

M. G. — Sur l’ensemble du territoire, je citerais des projets comme les SIGES, Système d’information et de gestion des eaux souterraines, des portails thématiques régionaux accessibles à la fois aux experts, aux scolaires et au grand public où l’on trouve, en quelques clics, des données hydrogéologiques locales et nationales actualisées. Ou encore le réseau national de piézomètres, compétence déléguée par le ministère chargé de l’écologie au BRGM qui remonte ainsi des données sur l’état quantitatif des nappes phréatiques.
Sur l’ensemble du territoire, je citerais des projets comme les SIGES, Système d’information et de gestion des eaux souterraines, des portails thématiques régionaux accessibles à la fois aux experts, aux scolaires et au grand public où l’on trouve, en quelques clics, des données hydrogéologiques locales et nationales actualisées. Ou encore le réseau national de piézomètres, compétence déléguée par le ministère chargé de l’Écologie au BRGM qui remonte ainsi des données sur l’état quantitatif des nappes phréatiques.

En résumé...

M. G. — Je dirais qu’on ne peut pas se passer du BRGM...  Cette collaboration est de plus en plus nécessaire avec l’accélération du changement climatique et ses dérèglements. Un nouveau mode de partenariat est en cours de constitution, à travers un cadre renouvelé de coopération public-public pour de nombreux projets déjà prévus.